Social accountability without the art of conversation is a fallacy: Africa we must re-think our strategy

It doesn’t matter where you were born; within you is a repository of great elements of success. I strongly believe we can learn. We can learn to be better at what we do if we are committed. I am saying this because I was once hopeless and now I can dare dream of changing Africa. Can you imagine of a form four student who is not able to start a proper conversation with anybody now thinking of crazy, like transforming Africa public discourse on social justice, governance and social innovation? Yesterday my colleagues from high school while chatting on our 2007 class Whats App group reminded me of how poor I was even in reading a passage in English that I read the word ANYONE in my mother tongue, I guess you may not want to hear how I pronounced the word.
That is how bad I was, that is how ridiculous it seemed but I had the will and tenacity to follow my dream that one time I would meet ANYONE and start a conversation. Today I can confirm I fear no one, I can meet anyone, and I can address anyone under the sky. I know no boundaries when it comes to whatever I want to achieve. I will pursue it with my whole heart and mind.
Having temerity to stand and interact with the rulers and kings in the earth with humility and respect is of great importance if we have to succeed in the fight against exploitation and social injustices. I have no doubt that having the will to learn the art of sparking a conversation of what ails our community is the starting point towards a just world.
Having learnt how to start a conversation I can attest of numerous opportunities I have had. I have been sponsored to attend many conferences without paying a coin; I have helped many people because I have been able to sweet talk those concern into a conversation that ended up with positive results. I have survived punishment because provoked my art of conversation hence having a chance to explain my story. With this art of conversation, I have enlarged my networks by practicing humility and respect.
Coming from a humble background, having to learn how to defend myself was a first priority. Learning to speak out and how to be humble but not weak was the greatest asset I needed. With humility and respect you can get your way to wherever you want to go so long us you have a reason to go there. Throughout my high school life I learnt these techniques. I remember with my fees problems I still managed to negotiate to be allowed to remain in school as I spoke to my sponsors while others were going home. It was funny because even those who never had fees balances exploited the opportunity to go home when that time came.
It is clear that we are not going to achieve much in terms of eradicating poverty and social injustice if we don’t consider other creative means of promoting social accountability. With the wide spread propaganda and pseudo talks of social accountability from politicians and few elites, you can only expect things to be worse than they are. I believe the best way we can enlighten the masses is to start helping them learn how to say what affects them. Social accountability has to do with the masses asking the right questions to those who have been given leadership responsibilities. Until the masses are able to articulate what they are entitled to and with humility and respect asking the leaders to account of what they have done, we aren’t going anywhere in terms of seeking justice.
I count it my responsibility to start setting up platforms for young people to start developing the art of conversation. I count it a worthy course to start building momentum towards openness in public discourse on what we are suffering from. I count it useful to be in the history books as being one of those who contributed toward creating a revolution in governance in Africa by helping people to learn how to articulate their issues to their governments, and elected leaders. I feel this is a worthy course that I will rather die than keeping quiet. It is a crazy dream, it is not with challenges but I am ready to take it on. For restoring Africa dignity is dear to my heart. Ending social injustice makes my heart alive, it is the reason I want to live long enough to see the monumental changes in Africa

Leave a Reply

